So He Humbled

“So He humbled you, allowed you to hunger, and fed you with manna which you did not know nor did your fathers know, that He might make you know that man shall not live by bread alone; but man lives by every word that proceeds from the mouth of the Lord.” Deuteronomy 8:3

There can be God reasons beyond our reasoning.

Thank You, Lord, for knowing what I need to stay lovingly humble and obedient before you. And here’s a simple poem . . .

Allowing This

It’s humbling to be
lovingly led
taken by the hand
and graciously fed
but better for us
in the long run
that pride be wrecked
and overcome.

16 Comments

  1. I had forgotten this – that “he humbled: them. They must have been an arrogant bunch leaving Egypt – full of fear as they left – but then the Sea, and the fire and cloud among them – pride to rebellion – to consequences. I know this pattern – too, too well. And Amen Deb, “but better for us in the long run that pride be wrecked”.

    I heart your words, really I do. Today is “in between” Saturday – Tomorrow I wish a Happy Easter to you. God bless and keep you and all of yours Deb.

  2. Oh Deb, This post is so full of wisdom. I am so thankful that we are the Lord’s workmanship, and not our own. We might work out our salvation with fear and trembling, but we would never do that except that the Lord was working in us to will and to do his good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). Your poem illustrated that so well.

    Love,
    Theresa

  3. Again, so good and solid, Deb. I especially like your discerning statement “There can be God reasons beyond our reasoning” and, in the poem, “that pride be wrecked.”

    Holy, Happy Resurrection Weekend!

  4. Oh, so true! It is difficult, the humbling part. But, to know He has our best good in mind…

    He searches the hearts of man, He knows exactly what we need. To be humiliated before Him is to bow low and worship.

    Thank you, Deb. I hope your Easter weekend is joyously uplifting to your soul.

    ♥ Michelle

  5. I forgot that He did it in part to humble them too. And that humbling is a good thing. I need it and need to stay that way. My situation is humbling to be sure. Yours too? Then we are in a good place. 🙂
    Thank you for your comment and Easter blessings. God bless you this day in all the ways He knows your heart desires.

  6. I love how you think of more and more scripture! It’s just how He made you . . .you think in the Word. It’s so beautiful! 🙂
    God bless you as He works His will and good pleasure out in you this Easter. You are a blessing!

  7. Thank you, sweet Michelle, for that wonderful comment and your Easter blessings. 🙂 Trusting that He knows exactly what we each need today. God bless you as you love Him with all your heart!

  8. Deb, I love your poem, and the truth that it is better for us that pride be wrecked and overcome, which can only be done by Him and through His sacrifice. As I read the Bible passage at the beginning, I thought of how Jesus is both the Bread of Life and the Word of God made flesh. He is the bread and the word that we need to live. Peace and a Blessed Easter, Linda

  9. Holy Happy Resurrection Day to you too, Sir Geoff. So glad we have every reason to celebrate Jesus everyday of our lives. 🙂

  10. I love what you see and think each time, Linda. More of His Spirit working and living in you. I remembered that verse, about living by every word that proceeds from His mouth, but not that it was in Deuteronomy. So thankful that we have His word, to live and grow by! God bless you and your Easter celebrating Him!

  11. Thanks Deb

    “Thank You, Lord, for knowing what I need to stay lovingly humble and obedient before you.”

    I don’t always want that lesson in humility but I’d rather go to Him with wounded pride than to live by my own rules and end up lost.

    Blessings Deb.
    ann

  12. I think I want to be humble on my own . . .naturally. ha! Just know to know that my pride is out of hand. Guess it’s not very humble to think I know how to be humble without His help. So that’s why I need that prayer!
    God bless you Ann, full of grace and humility, as you live and thrive on His rules and love.

  13. Deb, I know somebody who lost all his millions. His wife came to him, “This is the last meat on the fridge. Tomorrow it’ll be just sugar and rice for the kids.” The man cried so hard alone and asked, “Why Lord?”

    Now he knows why. He got to feel not only the hunger for food of those who have nothing to eat but their hopelessness as well.

    With debts paid, heart renewed, and pour out of millions of blessings, again — he now has time to feed the poor with food, hope, and God’s Word.

    Just sharing 🙂

  14. Thank you so much for sharing that story, Rea! You are such a blessing and He is using you so beautifully! God bless you for pouring out some Sonshine here!

  15. Pruning is painful but He knows we need it, and where. Even these difficult things we need to hear; and you don’t shy away from sharing them with us. That is the wounds, in a sense, and wisdom of a true friend. Thank you for being a true friend in this way to us, Deb.

  16. Oh Angel . . .you are so sweet. I DO tend to shy away from sharing hard things. I feel led to be an encourager! ha! I hope sometimes then that even the hard things can encourage, with His help.
    God bless you through all that He brings you to. love you!


Comments are closed.

SAND DOLLAR SEASON

PENNY POEMS and OTHER WORDS...

Faith Worked Out

Searching for the heart of the matter.

Broken Believers

For Rascals, Failures, Clumsy Disciples, the Addicted, and the Physically and Mentally Ill Believer

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda L. Kruschke's Blog

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

