Idle Tales?

“Then they returned from the tomb and told all these things to the eleven and to all the rest.
And their words seemed to them like idle tales, and they did not believe them.
But Peter arose and ran to the tomb; and stooping down, he saw the linen clothes lying by themselves; and he departed, marveling to himself at what had happened.” Luke 24:9,11,12

The apostles had a hard time accepting the report the women gave. But, I love how Peter stooped down to take a closer look.

Oh Jesus, as we share the Good News that You are risen, we thank You for the evidence of Yourself You leave in each person’s life. And here’s a simple poem . . .

Looking Inside Our Tombs

The gospel sounds like a story
a children’s fairy tale
something that is made up
another crutch for sale
until you stop and take the time
to look inside your tomb
and find the evidence Jesus leaves
to convince and draw you.

18 Comments

  1. Deb, I love this story, and I’m so excited I didn’t have to wait until Easter to hear it! You poem is wonderful. So many do think the gospel is a fairy tail or a crutch. I’m so thankful I’ve seen the evidence of the empty tomb. Peace, Linda

  2. I love your poems from yesterday and today. You have such a gift with words. I also noticed that you follow me by email. You have no idea how much this means to me. I don’t think very many people read my blog. I hope I can just touch one life. Thank you so much for your comments and your support. You are such an instrument in the Lord’s hands!

  3. Hi Debbie,

    Yes, Christ changes our deadness in our tombs into a living hope and faith…. The evidence we see by looking into His “tomb” are the annals of history and all of the prophecies in the Old Testament…. Truth springs forth marvelously.

    Love,
    Margaret

  4. Oh Deb, thank you so much. Very beautiful…and comforting.

    Love,
    Theresa

  5. Peter stooping down really touched me. Guess it got me to thinking about us needing to bow down, to be humble in order to see into the empty tomb of our lives. . .to see the linen cloths He left as evidence for us. God bless you, Linda, for sharing evidence of Him so beautifully each day!

  6. Deb,
    Reading this verse made me think of how often I treat these true stories as idle tales myself. Blessings,
    Eden

  7. I’m so blessed to read your blog! I know it’s hard starting out and not knowing if you are making a difference for Him or not. But you are!!! I promise!!
    I often think that He wants me supporting others at their blogs more than doing one of my own. ha! God kept giving me simple little poems. There is no place else that would want them. I’m so glad I just started blogging them, not knowing what I was doing exactly, because He has blessed me with so many wonderful friends here. I know He is going to do great things through you and your blog too.

  8. Margaret, your comments are so full of Him! That we see all the prophecies of the Old Testament when we look into His tomb . . .I loved that. 🙂 Thank you for leaving us with more to think about. God bless you as you leave evidence of Him too!

  9. That means so much to me, that this was comforting. Thank you! And God bless you as you comfort us with His word and love too.

  10. Outstanding message and poem, Deb, pulling me out of Tuesday-afternoon stupor. I really like this line: “another crutch for sale”

    Regarding your question concerning my new WPress blog, see if can subscribe via this link:
    http://geoffpope.com/poetry/2011/04/11/mom-remember/

  11. I did subscribe. yay! Thank you for helping me with that. God bless you as you stupor (stoop for) Him!
    A bit of a stretch there . . .groan. 🙂

  12. We do get so used to hearing them and reading them, sharing them. Praying that He keeps it all relevant and real in my heart! God bless you, Eden, for sharing the truth of Jesus!

  13. Hi Debbie — Loved this poem. Sometimes we think it’s easy to believe the promises of God … but I find it is work John 6:29. It’s work because there are often so many things telling us the opposite. But as you abide in God’s truth – and as you believe – really believe so that your actions follow the truth – the truth does set you free.

    Rachel

  14. Thank you so much for that comment, the truth that the enemy is working extra hard to keep us from believing. We have to work hard at keeping hold of the truth. God bless you, Rachel, and the special gift you have of deepening our relationships with Him.

  15. This is so beautiful Deb. I see Jesus in you, not a fairy tale.

    He left a trace of happiness in my once empty heart 🙂

  16. Your poem says it all so well! Thank you!

  17. I love what He left behind in our hearts! Lots of evidence of Him to be found. It feels like a fairy tale sometimes, because of His goodness to us. (And you get to be the Princess!)

  18. God bless you, Angel, and all the evidence of Jesus in your life!


Comments are closed.

SAND DOLLAR SEASON

PENNY POEMS and OTHER WORDS...

Faith Worked Out

Searching for the heart of the matter.

Broken Believers

For Rascals, Failures, Clumsy Disciples, the Addicted, and the Physically and Mentally Ill Believer

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda L. Kruschke's Blog

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

