Move Me

“He has said in his heart,
‘I shall not be moved;'”  Psalm 10:6

It is a red flag for me, whenever I realize I’m telling God what I shall not do.

Lord, thank You for moving me so I can be close to You.  And here’s a simple poem . . .

Moved Closer

source – torontorealtyblog.com

In stubbornness and pride
I decide
what I will
and will not do

then Your wisdom and love comes
moving me
so I can be
closer and closer to You.

 

Published in: on October 31, 2012 at 7:52 am  Comments (38)  
Tags: , , , , , ,

38 Comments

  1. Wonderful, wonderful poem, Sis Deb!! When I say that verse, I mean that I will not be moved from God’s side–lots of other things maybe–but not from HIM! God bless you abundantly as you go about your Wednesday work for Him–love, sis Caddo

  2. wow, as always, so thoughtful and yet so simple. God bless you Deb.

  3. So much wisdom in this. Thank you so much for sharing it!

    Love,
    Theresa

  4. “…then Your wisdom and love comes
    moving me…”

    Over the years, I’ve said more than a few times , “God, I’ll go this far, but no farther. It’s not fair to do more!” Then God in His wisdom and love, shaped in a sturdy 2×4, would come, smack me on the head, and move me. I

    t sounds nicer when you write it your way. Mine just seems more realistic to me.

    God bless you and watch out for your toes today.

  5. Oops! As you can see, my once over checking for proper sentence structure and spelling is imperfect.

  6. I think you were ducking from the 2×4, that’s what made, the sentence jump! :) God bless you, Mr. Larry, as He moves you today, to pray, to coach, to uplift and to teach!
    Okay, I’m stumped about watching out for my toes!!!

  7. I was looking for a song to go with it, but I couldn’t find one that really matched what I was trying to say. :) Do you remember that old one “You Move Me” by Susan Ashton? God bless you, wonderful woman of the Word, as He moves on your heart today!
    love and prayers and yay’s!

  8. God bless you, too, John. :) I love how God moves you to think and to write and to bless us . .and get us to think too!

  9. Oh I love that too, Sis Caddo, not being moved in that way. That is a good thing! I just pulled this part of the Psalm, but David was talking about the wicked saying this in their heart, as in a bad way.
    Love you and am thinking of you! God bless you as you are not moved away from Him today, just closer and closer to Him!

  10. Okay, so now that I’ve read your reply and the various comments, I have to raise my hand and confess that there have been (may still be) plenty of times when I’ve said, “No, God–not that”. But “we” keep putting one foot in front of the other…

  11. beautiful Debbie

  12. Oh how many times have I taken on the attitude of a rebellious two year old with God.
    “No God!” picture me stamping my foot.
    Only to have God come back at me with love and patience until I melt in His arms of grace and accept His ways are higher than mine!
    Thanks for this poem Deb. It reminds me that He who began a good work in me will be faithful to complete it!

  13. “Lord, thank You for moving me so I can be close to You.” I love it! It is so true… if we are walking closely to Him it is because He has brought us to Himself! What a wonderful Lord we serve.

  14. You are such a sweetheart…big hug.

    Cheers and God bless :)

  15. You are really , really , really good at that . ..even the things you say “Oh no, not that” to! I’m thinking about that meeting with K in the card aisle, and the restart of your friendship with J, and I could go on all day! :) He moves you in beautiful ways! love you!

  16. God bless you and move you in loving ways today, Terry! love and long distance hugs!

  17. I’m smiling because I know that foot stamping picture! haha! Somehow He makes those impossible oh no I’m not things, doable . .with Him. I love that verse, Pastor J. It is so encouraging and He is so faithful! God bless you and yours today. I see evidence of His moving you closer every day! :)

  18. What a wonderful insight, Pastor Rob . .that if we are walking closely, it’s because He has brought us to Himself. What an amazing God, to do that, to want us close to Himself. God bless you as you walk close with Him today!

  19. Going to put the song I was kind of thinking of, on here! :)

  20. same to you my friend!!!!!

  21. I love Susan Ashton’s songs! Your poem has me thinking about something I’ve been asked to do. I find it hard, sometimes, to tell what is His idea or not. So I ask to be made willing to be willing… But when it is something I just dread – I find it hard to believe that’s Him? Have you been there?

    Blessings ~ Wendy

  22. I don’t know about your toes either. But I feel you need to watch out for them…not one of my jokes this time. Watch out for your toes, okay?

  23. Oh okay . .it wasn’t a joke. Thank you then and God bless you for warning me!

  24. Wendy, I find it hard too!! I love the prayer to be made willing to be willing . .I want to remember that one! Your question brings some really hard times to mind and I have been there. Those memories are painful yet, but I think He was still in them, working out things that I just may not understand. :) God bless you and so glad that you remembered that song too!

  25. Oh SIS!! That song is incredibly wonderful–and it, combined with your reply to my 2nd comment, have me trying not to cry my eyes out, dripping tears on the keyboard. You are my armor bearer, Sis, and such an example of “being moved by God’s great love”. Sending hugs and kisses tonight! Thank you, your sis Caddo

  26. If you start crying, then I will and both of our keyboards will be flooded! :) Love you so much and thank YOU, for being YOU and being HIS.

  27. There is such a fight with Self, to submit to the idea that God knows SO MUCH better than us. We tend to think a little too highly of our own plans…

  28. That is so true, Melody! Thinking too highly always gets me in trouble! God bless you and all the plans He has for you!

  29. Deb I love how you thanked Him for moving you so you can be closer to Him. I love that He always wants to bring us closer!
    Really enjoyed your readers’ comments tonight – what great readers you have.
    Lots of love xx

  30. YOU are one of those great readers and commentors! :) God bless you , Aimee , as you stay moveable and bendable for your Jesus! love you and am thinking of you!

  31. Enough said! Loved the poem, encouraging Debbie!

    Paulette

  32. Love YOU, Paulette, and so thankful for you! God bless you and yours, as He moves your heart to worship Him each day!

  33. Praise God for equipping us for the task He has in mind! Great Post, Deb! Oh, and I almost fell out the car window when the Hawk kept circling overhead! :) I’m always appreciative of your encouraging comments!
    God Bless You & Aubrey!

  34. That is what amazed me about your shot . ..I knew that hawk didn’t just stop in mid air for you! :) God bless you as He moves you just how He wants to!

  35. This is the story of my life! (You’d think I’d have learnt by now, wouldn’t you?! I must be a slow learner, or maybe just stubborn or self-willed)

    I all too often say no to God – or more often “I can’t do that!” but my God is such that He gently (and sometimes not so gently) moves me closer to Him and brings me to the point where I know that He is right, and in His enabling and power, I go ahead and wonder why I objected in the first place.

    Don’t we serve an amazing God? He just keeps on loving us and undertaking for us and ‘growing’ us! Incredible, but the reality of it is proof positive.

  36. Yes, I am sure I say, “I can’t do that!” too, mentor Angela! haha! Thanking Him with you that He undertakes for us (I love how you show us that!) so that yes, we can. God bless you as He loves on you today!

  37. For you

  38. Oh I love this song, Betty, and have been singing it today! Thank you so much! God bless you!


Comments are closed.

Passion through Poetry

Moving Towards the Light

The Digital Inkwell

If poetry be the food for love, pen on.

No Hallmark Movie

Life is no Hallmark movie, But.....

summer

I really like Ryan Gosling.

Transformational thoughts....

By a person who journeys between thinking.... and having to think again and again!

FOR THE LOVE OF GOD

Teaching, Inspiration & Exhorting God's Word

MOON OVER SPUMONI

Spice Box of Words

A PRIVATE ENCUMBRANCE

Surreptitious Scribblings

PeriDe

navigating life with a Christian worldview

Seasons and Impressions

and Other Poems by Cynthia Ann Katon-Alfonso

GOD, AUTISM and Me

Faith Hope Courage

Wordsmith's Desk

some thoughts along the way

hooksamui

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Dennis Broderick

Power Up Your Life!

Betty's Verse Of The DAY

Into His Arms I Fall

A Frank Angle

Thoughts from the Inner Mind

A SPIRIT-Kissed Soul

No judgment, just LOVE! :-) (Song of Songs 4:7 NIV- You are altogether beautiful, my darling; there is no flaw in you.)

Philos / Theo / Sophia

For the love of God and Wisdom

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 834 other followers

