Here I Am

“And it came to pass at that time, while Eli was lying down in his place, and when his eyes had begun to grow dim that he could not see,
and before the lamp of God went out, in the tabernacle of the Lord, where the ark of God was, and while Samuel was lying down to sleep,
that the Lord called Samuel. And he answered, ‘Here I am.'” 1 Samuel 3:2-4

When our youngest falls asleep on the couch, she wakes often and calls for me.

Oh Lord, may I stay close enough to hear You and respond. And here’s a simple poem . . .

He’s Calling

You are calling out our names
may we be listening

You have words for us to speak
may our mouths be willing

may we trust You even more
respond quickly and obey

not allowing time to come between
diluting what You say.

20 Comments

  1. I have a 3 month old grandson named Samuel – by my son, Daniel, because of this sacred story. Lovely poem. Here I am, Lord. Amen.
    Debbie

  2. Debbie, thank you for sharing about your amazing family and the reason behind his name. :) I’m thinking God has something special planned for that baby boy.
    God bless you as you stay available for Him!

  3. I love that last line Deb. May we become so acquainted with His voice that we not only respond but respond immediately! I need help with that one!

  4. Lovely!

  5. Ooooh, this is absolutely beautiful :-)

    Thanks Deb!

    I just left Ben’s place where He spoke of The Prophet’s Job and here I find you reminding me that we all need to be at the place to hear and obey. How cool is that?! http://justifiedfreely.wordpress.com/2011/10/28/the-prophets-job/

    There was a time He called out my name. I was on my way to somewhere I didn’t need to be. He called and called, I finally responded and today I am thankful that He waited for me.

    “Oh Lord, may I stay close enough to hear You and respond.”
    Amen.

    Blessings,
    ann

  6. Deb, thanks so much…
    “You are calling out our names…” I Love That
    I want to share a post by “A seed Inspired” that also blessed me this morning :) Read past the goldish to the end of the story…

    http://aseedinspired.com/2011/10/27/of-god-and-goldfish/

  7. I am so thankful I read this. Thank you for sharing it!

    God Bless you, Deb. :)

  8. Sometimes time can cool things off, can’t it? Blessings Debbie!

  9. “…Here I am…

    What a simple message to present the Lord every day, one He loves to hear.

  10. I need help with it too! I think my daughter is part of His training program for me. ;)
    God bless you, Pastor J, and all the ways you are here for Him!

  11. Ann-full-of-Jesus-grace . . .you leave me a link AND a song? I am so blessed! Thank you! And I’m so glad that He waited for you and kept calling . . .your story shows His mercy and gives me hope when I’m hearing impaired.
    God bless you as you stay close to Him today. . .and hear Him say He loves you. :)

  12. I am heading over there, dear faith-filled fisherlady! Thank you for sharing and for responding to Him in this!
    God bless you as He calls out your name today!

  13. Picturing you with your coffee and mini wheats, reading and praying and praising Him. :) God bless you, woman of the Word, as you eagerly await His call!
    love and prayers!

  14. A good thing, when I’m angry . .. but not when He has a hot message for me! :) God bless you, dear Eden, as He calls you beloved today!

  15. Love that, Larry. Now to make sure I have some enthusiasm in it when I say it! Don’t want to sound like Eeyore.
    God bless you as you present yourself to Him today!

  16. God bless you, lovely one, as He calls your name and asks you to write!

  17. >> “You are calling out our names”
    Isn’t it wonderful that He calls each of us by NAME. He knows each one of us personally and intimately; knows our very thoughts and motives and relates to us accordingly.

    >> “may our mouths be willing . . . respond quickly and obey”
    Amen! May we be willing to speak and do so immediately, without hesitation. I so often try arguing “I can’t do that!” but it doesn’t get me very far. I need to learn to say “Yes, Lord, straight away. Take me and work through me.”

    Thanks Deb.

  18. “without hesitation” . . .that’s the spot I find myself in! I start to wonder if I really heard right, do I understand this right, and on and on until I can talk myself right out of all of it. Praying that I respond straight away with you, when He calls!
    God bless you, mentor Angela, and all that He is doing through you!

  19. Deb, I love this story from Samuel and your application of it to our listening for the voice of Jesus. :) May we always say, “Here I am” without delay. Peace, Linda

  20. Praying for that, Linda, to respond eagerly and ready for Him. Only right now I’m really tired and am afraid I wouldn’t be too quick. eekkk! God bless you as you listen for Him.


Comments are closed.

Passion through Poetry

Moving Towards the Light

The Digital Inkwell

If poetry be the food for love, pen on.

No Hallmark Movie

Life is no Hallmark movie, But.....

summer

I really like Ryan Gosling.

Transformational thoughts....

By a person who journeys between thinking.... and having to think again and again!

FOR THE LOVE OF GOD

Teaching, Inspiration & Exhorting God's Word

MOON OVER SPUMONI

Spice Box of Words

A PRIVATE ENCUMBRANCE

Surreptitious Scribblings

PeriDe

navigating life with a Christian worldview

Seasons and Impressions

and Other Poems by Cynthia Ann Katon-Alfonso

GOD, AUTISM and Me

Faith Hope Courage

Wordsmith's Desk

some thoughts along the way

hooksamui

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Dennis Broderick

Power Up Your Life!

Betty's Verse Of The DAY

Into His Arms I Fall

A Frank Angle

Thoughts from the Inner Mind

A SPIRIT-Kissed Soul

No judgment, just LOVE! :-) (Song of Songs 4:7 NIV- You are altogether beautiful, my darling; there is no flaw in you.)

Philos / Theo / Sophia

For the love of God and Wisdom

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 835 other followers

