You Judge

“But Peter and John answered and said to them, ‘Whether it is right in the sight of God to listen to you more than to God, you judge’.” Acts 4:19
“For we cannot but speak the things which we have seen and heard.” Acts 4:20

I love listening to my family and friends.

Lord, You know I need to listen to what is being said to me today. Please give me ears to hear Your voice in and through it all. And here’s a simple poem . . .

Listening

So many voices
telling me what to do

not all understanding
I must first listen to You

and if what You say
rubs someone the wrong way

I know You’ll cover me
as I trust You and pray.

12 Comments

  1. Thank you, Deb !!! :-)

    “…I must first listen to You…”
    Lord, I am listening. I am trusting. I am waiting…. I don’t always hear what I want to hear but I choose to believe you’re telling me what I need to know!!! Teach me your truths that I may speak according to your direction. “Show Me Your Way” Amen

    Blessings,
    ann

  2. Yes, we must first listen to Him, when our flesh wants to listen to everyone and everything but Him.

    Thank you for this important reminder. It reminds me of this:

    “20And though the Lord give you the bread of adversity, and the water of affliction, yet shall not thy teachers be removed into a corner any more, but thine eyes shall see thy teachers:

    21And thine ears shall hear a word behind thee, saying, This is the way, walk ye in it, when ye turn to the right hand, and when ye turn to the left.” Isaiah 30:20-21

    Love,
    Theresa

  3. Deb, Wonderful poem! We do need to listen to Him first, and when others tell us something we need to go to Him to find out if it is in agreement with what He would say.

    “and if what You say
    rubs someone the wrong way”

    Sadly, I don’t think there is any “if” about this. What He says “will” rub some the wrong way. Jesus warned us of that. But your final stanza is exactly right that when we trust Him and pray when that happens, then He will cover us. :) Peace, Linda

  4. Lovely! It is amazing how many voices will try and distract us from God’s voice.

  5. It is a flesh thing, isn’t it Theresa? I have been such a people pleaser and then He turned me into a people person, one who loves people. But I will always have to be careful not to fall back into that, and listen to Him first.
    God bless you, wonderful woman of the Word! Your comment helped me so much! :)

  6. There was Theresa and now you. Thank you! That it IS going to happen and I will just trust Him through it. :) That has happened so often and really everyday in some way. I just didn’t see it for what it is! I love how He blesses me with all of you to help me understand what I just wrote. ! ha!
    God bless you, dear Linda, as you listen to Him today!

  7. Oh yes it is . . .and I listen not always knowing what they are up to. So thankful that He does know, and guides me and keeps me.
    God bless you Ted, and the way He talks to us through you and your photos! :)

  8. Ann full of Jesus grace . . .thank you! I love the song! You always know what I need to hear too . . .like Him. :)
    God bless you as you trust and listen to Him today, walking in His way and His truth! You are such a blessing!

  9. “…and if what You say
    rubs someone the wrong way…”

    My experience is that the first person to be rubbed the wrong way is usually a relative of mine. But then again, that was also true in Jesus’ life, too.

  10. I’m smiling . . .okay, giggling. I know it’s not funny, really, but it’s so true! At first I thought you were going to say that the first person to be rubbed the wrong way is usually ourselves. :)
    God bless you, Larry, and all that you hear and speak from God.

  11. I listened to so many, including myself, and deferred my walk towards God. Only when I finally listened to Him that living makes sense. And they listened as well! :)

  12. I love that, Rea! You have such a testimony and faith . .. you bless me and strengthen me! God bless you as you listen to Him today!


Comments are closed.

Desert Rose in Bloom

Blooming in harsh conditions

Philippians 4:8 Imagery

dedicated to God’s creation and His living Word

Believe Anyway

Stay optimistic, even in trying times

debsviewfromthepianobench

It's all about Jesus!

People Being Real

Thoughts towards authentic Christian culture

Anne Rose

Looking for Eden

DebBe Still and Listen

"He Died 4 Me, I Live 4 Him!"

BOWENDIARIES

*POETRY *ART* SHORT STORIES

Vik Tory Arch

Following the Ink. Let the story begin....

MOMENTS WITH FAITH

Letting the World know my views

LoveaMarie

Everything godly, nerdy & lovely in one place!

picturescriptures

Creation is not silent ~ It sings His praise!

naturephotopoems

Creation's beauty draws words from a poet's heart.

kushtrimthaqi

Just another human being who's trying to reach new levels of consciousness.

Defusing Chaos

Because chaos doesn't sort itself out.

Wondering Preacher

The musings and meditations of a preacher, telling stories and wondering about various things

AngelAtticus

Angel Cat. Let brotherly love continue. Be not forgetful to entertain strangers: for thereby some have entertained angels unawares.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 667 other followers

